Idaho’s new texting-while-driving law officially goes into effect on Sunday, July 1.
The new law makes it an infraction to text and drive, and carries an $85 fine if a motorist is cited.
Following lawmaker consideration of texting-while-driving bills during two prior legislative sessions, Idaho became the 37th state to prohibit the practice earlier this year.
AAA’s November 2011 statewide survey of registered Idaho voters showed that 87 percent of Idahoans supported a legislative ban on texting while driving. That public support is backed by Idaho crash data that shows 192 people were killed and 1,534 were seriously injured in crashes involving distracted driving from 2008 to 2010.